3.1     Types of Disabilities

The Boy Scouts of America recognizes and complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) when defining a disability or a disabling condition. Physical impairment is not only a person whom has limited use of their limbs or is in a wheelchair but also involves these disabilities:

Mobility Visual
Hearing Chronic disease (Diabetes)
Spinal Cord Injury Traumatic Brain Injury

Mental or emotional disabilities are people with a disorder that results in a disruption in a person’s thinking, feelings, moods, and ability to relate to others. Some examples of these disabilities are:

Learning Disabilities Phobias
Depression Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Developmental disability is a term used to describe severe, life-long disabilities attributable to mental and/or physical impairments. Developmental disabilities are usually classified as severe, profound, moderate or mild, as assessed by the individual’s need for support. Some developmental disabilities are:

Mental Retardation Dyslexia
Down Syndrome Autism
Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD & ADHD)
Copyright © 2011 Troop 120, All rights reserved.